Potato and Kale Baked Hash with Poached Egg

DSC03564The title of this is a bit of a lie. First off, while I encourage YOU to use beautiful purple and red potatoes fresh out of the garden for your version of this hash, I have a potato allergy (*gasp!) which causes me heartbreak on the daily – so I’ve gone ahead and substituted sweet potatoes for my version of this recipe.  As much as a love sweet potatoes, we grow MANY varieties of potatoes in the garden, and I acknowledge not only are potatoes easier to grow, but in many recipes, their purple and red hues add fantastic color variation.  This meal would be, in fact, much prettier with potatoes.

But I’d rather not get any more down on myself for my body’s aversion to this particular type of nightshade. Instead, I’d like to point out that the egg is this hash isn’t quite poached.  You see, a poached egg is is one that is cooked by boiling, usually in water, or in special egg poaching holders that are heated from underneath by boiling water.  In this case, your hash will be heated up, and then you’ll create wells in the hash, in which the eggs will sit, and be oven-baked according you your egg-runniness disposition.

The thing is, the eggs aren’t exactly frying, as only a little part of them are touching the pan, if at all.  They are being cooked in the steam and vegetable heat put out by their surrounding edible comrades, and I don’t know exactly what to call it.  I will say, I like it. Any time I’m introduced to a new way to inhale my neighbor’s farm-fresh eggs, I’m in.  All in.

Which is my general mood this afternoon.  DSC03545I’m pumped on life and highly energized.  Whee! Which is why I’m rocking out to No Age, a punk duo out of Los Angeles that has me going.  I’m listening to their four-track  Losing Feeling EP, which does have me running to put back the needle frequently.  The plus side is that this record was new to me, and after listening to both sides about eight times, it now feels like an old friend.

But ah yes.  Back to “potato hash” that I didn’t make with potatoes, and poached eggs that aren’t really poached.  Don’t worry.  I think you’ll love it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. potatoes
  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • 4 oz. sweet bell peppers (5-6 peppers)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 scallions
  • 2 bunches of kale
  •  1 1/2 tsp salt (divided)
  •  1/2 tsp pepper (divided)
  • 2 eggs *3 or 4 eggs could be used, with a slightly larger baking pan, to accommodate a meal for 3-4 people.  The idea would be that each person gets and egg and some hash.
  • 1 bunch parsely
  • 2 oz. aged cheddar cheese
  • Hot sauce for serving

 Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 4o0°.
  • Heat 2 tbsp. olive oil on medium-high heat (cast-iron pan preferred), and then add chopped potatoes and cook 4-5 minutes stirring occasionally, until browned.
  • Reduce heat to medium, and add the 2 additional tbsp. of olive oil, and then add sweet bell peppers, scallions, and garlic.  Add some salt and pepper, and cook 2-4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add in kale and season with additional salt and pepper, and cook 2-4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • *If you aren’t using a cast iron or other oven-safe pan, transfer hash to a baking dish now.
  • Use a spoon to create two wells in your hash, and rack and egg into each well.  Season with a dash of salt and pepper. DSC03555
  • Sprinkle grated aged white cheddar on top of it all, and place in the oven.
  • Cook 7-9 minutes, until egg whites have fully hardened and egg yolks have reached your desired level of runniness (or firmness, if that’s your style). DSC03563
  • Remove from the oven, and transfer to bowls, trying to keep the eggs in their respective wells during the transfer. DSC03565
  • Garnish with parsley, and serve with hot sauce on the side.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

